The tower was erected in 1885 by a Chinese builder, Mr. Leong Choon Cheong. After four years of finished construction, it started to tilt due to an underground stream. It was originally used as a water tower supplying the area of the town. It had a clock at the top, which still rings every 15 minutes.
The tower also served as a beacon to guide ships into Teluk Intan Port. Currently it is a local tourist attraction, and no longer stores water.